

Japan Local Government Centre, London

UK LOCAL GOVERNMENT – KEY DATES

April 1974

Local government reorganisation outside London: new structure introduced of six metropolitan counties and 39 shire counties, divided into 36 metropolitan and 296 non-metropolitan districts.

Responsibility for water and sewerage transferred to water authorities.

Ambulance and some health services transferred to health authorities.

March 1981

Merseyside Development Corporation established.

July 1981

London Docklands Development Corporation (LDDC) established.

April 1985

London Regional Transport transferred from the local authority sector.

April 1986

Abolition of Greater London Council and metropolitan county councils. In London, functions transferred to City of London, London boroughs, the Inner London Education Authority (ILEA), the London Fire and Civil Defence Authority (LFCDA), the London Waste Regulation Authority (LWRA), waste disposal authorities and other bodies such as the London Planning Advisory Committee. In metropolitan areas, functions passed to metropolitan districts, waste disposal authorities (in Merseyside and Greater Manchester) and joint authorities for police, fire and civil defence, and transport. Residuary bodies were set up to wind up the affairs of the abolished councils.

October 1986

Responsibility for municipal bus services transferred to public transport companies.

April 1987

Responsibility for municipal airports (except Manchester) transferred to public airport companies.

May 1987

Black Country, Teesside, Trafford Park and Tyne and Wear Development Corporations established.

April 1989

Funding of polytechnics and higher education colleges transferred to the Polytechnics and Colleges Funding Council.

City technology colleges and one City College for the Technology of Arts established in fifteen local education authorities (until 1993) as independent specialist schools.

Sept 1989

The first grant-maintained schools come into existence following the 1988 Education Reform Act. These schools are independent of local authority control. They are funded by central government through the Funding Agency for Schools. Part of local authority expenditure on education consists of payments back to the government for the funding of these schools.

April 1990

ILEA abolished. Responsibility for education in inner London transferred to the 12 inner London boroughs.

March 1992

Birmingham Heartlands Development Corporation established.

July 1992

Local Government Commission set up to review the structure of local government in England.

April 1993

Local authorities become responsible for implementing new legislation on community care.

Funding of colleges of further education and sixth form colleges transferred from local authorities to the Further Education Funding Council.

May 1993

Plymouth Development Corporation established.

July 1993

Careers service functions transferred from local authorities to local partnerships approved by the Secretary of State.

April 1995

Isle of Wight unitary authority replaces the county council and two district councils. New police authorities set up in the shire areas, taking all policing responsibilities away from county councils.

April 1996

Unitary authorities created in Avon, Cleveland, Humberside and North Yorkshire,

replacing both shire districts and Avon, Cleveland and Humberside county councils. New combined fire authorities created in each of these four authorities. Waste regulation becomes the responsibility of the Environment Agency, resulting in the abolition of the LWRA.

April 1997

Unitary authorities created in Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Derbyshire, Dorset, Durham, East Sussex, Hampshire, Leicestershire, Staffordshire and Wiltshire, replacing some of the shire districts in these areas. New combined fire authorities also created in these areas.

April 1998

Unitary authorities created in Berkshire, Cambridgeshire, Cheshire, Devon, Essex, Hereford and Worcester, Kent, Lancashire, Nottinghamshire and Shropshire, replacing some shire districts and Berkshire County Council. New combined fire authorities were also created in each of these areas.

Urban development corporations outside London abolished and assets transferred to the Commission for the New Towns (later English Partnerships).

June 1998

LDDC abolished.

April 1999

Funding of grant-maintained schools transferred to local authorities; city technology colleges permitted to remain independent if choosing to do so.

July 2000

Greater London Authority created, consisting of a directly elected mayor and a separately elected assembly, and four functional bodies. The four functional bodies are:

- i. The Metropolitan Police Authority, overseeing policing in London (excluding the City). An entirely new local authority, the Receiver for the Metropolitan Police having been abolished.
- ii. The London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority, essentially a reconstitution of the old LFCDA.
- iii. Transport for London (TfL), which has strategic responsibility for transport in London; TfL also has responsibility for London buses and is the highway and traffic authority for certain major roads in the capital.
- iv. The London Development Agency, promoting economic development and regeneration in London.

April 2002

Funding of sixth form education transferred from local authorities to the Learning and Skills Council.

July 2003

Control of London Underground transferred from the Department for Transport to TfL.

October 2003

Thurrock Urban Development Corporation established.

April 2004

Combined fire authorities in shire areas become major precepting authorities, having previously been financed by payments from the county or unitary councils in their area.

May 2004

London Thames Gateway Development Corporation established.

July 2004

Strategic planning transferred from county councils to regional planning bodies/regional assemblies under regional spatial strategy reforms.

December 2004

West Northamptonshire Urban Development Corporation established.

March 2005

New Forest National Park comes into existence.

April 2005

Responsibility for magistrates' courts transferred from local authorities to Her Majesty's Courts Service.

April 2006

The New Forest National Park became fully functional.

December 2008

Home and Communities Agency established from merger of English Partnerships and the Housing Corporation.

April 2009

Unitary authorities created in Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Cornwall, County Durham, Northumberland, Shropshire and Wiltshire, replacing both shire districts and county councils.